BFH’s Weyant Walks The Walk; Coach Of The Year, Twice!

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

BFH’s Weyant Walks The Walk; Coach Of The Year, Twice!

Windsor County Sheriff’s Dept. Captain and BFH wrestling coach Claude Weyant walks the walk; Coach of the Year, Twice!! And that deserves the double exclamation point. After eighteen years of dedication to a program that might have shared the same fate as the Dodo bird, Claude Weyant coached his wrestlers to second place in the state of Vermont and rightfully earned his spot in the record books.

Coach Weyant and Mike Baker

Coach Weyant accepting Coach Of The Year Award from Executive Director Mike Baker

The Journey

Coach Weyant began this journey many years ago when Eric Quinney related the possible extinction of the Bellows Falls wrestling team because of the lack of a coach. Weyant didn’t turn  his back on the team and became the  head coach. Through the years, he’s only had two individual  state champs and never had a team  trophy!

The Co-op

Three years ago, Bellows Falls joined forces with Hartford as a co-op team because neither program had enough wrestlers to field a squad. Although BF had some fine young talent in the Rockingham youth program, they wouldn’t see them for at least two more years. The move proved to be successful and two years ago they had four wrestlers finish in the top four in the state.

3rd Place 2013 Vermont States

Last year BFH managed to take third place in the states while only fielding seven wrestlers. Weyant was honored with his first Coach of the Year Award while Mike Viens was named Assistant Coach of the Year. This was only Weyant’s second team trophy ever! The first was a third place finish at The Jason Lowell Memorial Tournament at MMU earlier in the season.

BFH 3rd at Vermont State Wrestling Tournament

BFH Takes 3rd In The States With Only Seven Wrestlers!


Vermont Wrestling 2nd Place

Vermont 2014 State Wrestling Championship Finalist

The Dream Season

Having fresh recruits in from the Rockingham Area Wrestling program, Weyant could sense big things on the horizon. Experienced freshmen Jake Lober, Brady Illingworth, Brendan Kendall, Cameron Viens and DJ Snyde joined the BFH squad as well as walk ons Bryce Smith, Jahleel Denson, Sawyer Reis and Kevin Gosslant. This infusion of talent added to the returning core of John Harris, Shane Brown, Kyle Record, Patrick Libuda, Steve Cerrone and Austin and Nolan Viens was just what the doctor ordered! Springfield independent Mo Stettner also wrestled with the squad.

Trophies Galore

Weyant knew he had a good team but didn’t realize quite how good they’d be. But when the smoke cleared and the 2014 season was completed, BFH finished 2nd in the state, had three wrestlers on the All Marble Valley Team, seven wrestlers honorable mention, took home hardware from every tournament they entered, and Claude Weyant walks the walk; Coach of the Year, Twice!

BFH 2nd At Vermont States

BFH Captures 2nd At Vermont State Wrestling Championships

2014 Vermont State Finalist
Conval Early Bird Champion
Hubie Wagner Invitational Champion
Rodney Smith Classic Champion
Granville Finalist
Northbridge Finalist
Minikiello Holiday Invitational 3rd

 All Marble Valley League Wrestling Team

106 Calvin Call Mt. Anthony
113 Tyler Raetz Mt. Anthony
Austin Viens Bellows Falls/Hartford
120 Troy Gassaway Mt. Anthony
126 Taber Watson Mt. Anthony
Brendon Kendall Bellows Falls/Hartford
132 Dylan LaFountain Mt. Anthony
138 Zach Allen Mill River
145 Nolan Viens Bellows Falls/Hartford
152 Noble Shaler Mt. Anthony
160 Jacob Woodside Mt. Anthony
182 Austin Price Mt. Anthony
195 Tyler Mattison Mt. Anthony
220 Jack Luciano Mt. Anthony
285 Jesse Webb Mt. Anthony 

Honorable Mention

Burr and Burton: Caleb Giles, Sean Armstrong
Rutland: Ian Reilly, Corey Black, Charles Whithmore, Shane Warner, Aaron Borkowski
Otter Valley: Eric Manning, Tyson Cram, Neiko Desabrias, Nate Doty, Adam Sherwin
Bellows Falls/Hartford: Steve Cerrone, Patrick Libuda, Brady Illingworth, Kyle Record, Jahleel Denson, Jake Lober, John Harris
Fair Haven:  Kaleb Larock, Ashford Goodhue
Mt. Anthony:  Bailey Willard, Darren Ruiz-Sauer

The Tribute

At the 2014 States, Coach Weyant’s first team as head coach came to the tournament to pay tribute and support the man that had given his all to keep the program alive.

Weyant's first BF wrestling team

Coach Weyant’s First Team


The Future

The future seems bright for BFH. Although they lose three seniors, Shane Brown, Patrick Libuda and Co-Captain Nolan Viens, they have a core of competent wrestlers and a stable full of youth wrestlers on the way. Who knows, maybe we’ll see Coach Weyant take home the ultimate trophy and dethrone Mt. Anthony! Best of luck coach.


Vermont Wrestler Weyant Walks The Walk; Coach Of The Year, Twice!


1 Comment

  1. CLaude Weyant on

    Thank you for the article Steve, however this past season was the first state coach of the year award that I have received in my 18 years. It was not my second one in a row. The two year Coach was from the marble valley league. it was and is humbling to receive this prestigious award this past year considering the excellent coaches we have throughout vermont.

Leave A Reply